Matlab & Scripts

Discussion in 'AutoCAD' started by scott_hicks, Jul 1, 2004.

1. scott_hicks

scott_hicks Guest

Anyone out there use Matlab to write script files? If so, I am curious to hear of any on-line resources or already written routines.

(I am just learning to lisp, so I need the crutch of another programming language to get me through some automations...plus the way Matlab handles large data sets is quite handy).

Just curious...

scott_hicks, Jul 1, 2004
  2. scott_hicks

devitg Guest

script is not lisp

What do you want to do??

devitg, Jul 2, 2004
  3. scott_hicks

scott_hicks Guest

Yeah, I realize that scripts are not lisp. Lisp is an Autocad programming language, right? Unfortunately, my knowledge of it is quite limited. But I do know other programming languages, so my solution to get the products that I need has been to craft an a third party routine to write a script. Within that routine, I can use variable, make calculatons, etc. While I am sure that it is not quite as useful as a full command of lisp, it is the best I can do to produce a product with out investing a lot of time to learn a new language.

In this case, I have written code/script to take a large number of velocity vectors in the x and y direction, calculate the resultant magnitude and direction and then plot those at their proper geographic coordinate. I also wanted it to save each 5 or 10 velocity measurements to a seperate layer and save the individual layers as a bmp (which I will import into a third party software to make a mini movie depicting the changes in velocities over time).

I guess my purpose of my post, was to see if many other people 'customize' autocad in this manner. Any other language should work, as long as it is capable of generating a text file. Matlab is just a derivative of C which has the advantage of manipulating large data sets very quickly and easily, many times without needing to setup loops.

Just curious...

Cheers,
    Scott